Sunflower Essences and Dark Chocolate

One of my favourite flowers is the Sunflower and the various members of that family. I particularly like the ones that randomly appear in my yard from seeds that were in the bird feeders. My husband is very diligent about keeping the feeders full. Some of the smaller birds don’t want the sunflower seeds, so they simply pluck those seeds out and drop them on the ground. The blue jays spirit the sunflower seeds away, and hide them in caches in the ground. Blue Jays apparently hide more seeds than they ever eat, so each spring I get a new crop of sunflowers in these odd locations.

01-sunflower

The sunflower is actually made of many tiny flowers called florets. The outer florets are large yellow petals. After pollination, every little flower or floret produces a seed.

The Essence of Sunflower is said to increase self-esteem and encourage optimism. I’ve never made a flower essence, but apparently it involves brandy, so I think it would taste quite nice.  I guess I would have to ration myself as to how many sips of essence I took each day. I already have to ration how much dark chocolate I eat each day, so perhaps I could combine the essence sipping and chocolate nipping.  I can certainly see how my self-esteem and optimism would increase with these little rituals.

Update – June 2013 – I continue to reinforce my self-esteem with the daily twice daily big time consumption of dark chocolate. As you probably know, dark chocolate contains some of the same disease-fighting antioxidants as red wine, fruits and vegetables. It is also thought that cocoa flavanols found in chocolate could be useful in enhancing brain function for people fighting fatigue, sleep deprivation, and even the effects of aging.

6 comments

  1. I don’t understand it. I’ve been finishing off a box of self-esteem builders (assorted cream centers) every day for 6 months and I feel awful! Maybe I need to add a bottle of Riunite Lambrusco to the menu?

    Like

    • Cream centers?!?! I think that is the problem.
      Dark chocolate and wine pairing – I’ve read that the Robert Mondavi Private Selection 2002 Zinfandel would be an excellent choice, but I find a glass of cold milk is good too!.

      Like

    • I hadn’t heard of that wine. I see that one of the three grapes in it is the Zinfandel.
      I’m thinking a photo of a bunch of grapes would make an interesting ‘Marble’ picture.

      Like

Comments?

