Seeds – Fall Texture

It is the Season of Seeds. Every blooming thing has shifted into high gear to make the babies of next spring. It is the expression ‘Going to Seed’ but with a much nicer meaning than when you overhear someone whisper it about you at your High School Reunion…

20-allium

The Allium family – best known for the chive, onion and garlic members, there are many non-edible bulbs in this family. These particular Alliums are called Purple Sensation. They stand 2 to 3 feet high, and have blooms the size of a baseball. They put out a lot of viable seed. I originally bought three bulbs, but I now have several hundred plants, thanks to them going to seed!

Old gardeners never die, they just go to seed.
– Author Unknown –

20-papaver

These are the seed pods of the Oriental Poppies. The holes in the top of the pods make miniature salt shakers when the seed is ripe.

Every thought is a seed. If you plant crab apples, don’t count on harvesting Golden Delicious.
– Bill Meyer –

20-grass-seed

Grass seed – so many types, so few I know the names of! It grows wild all over the property, and provides food to many birds and little beasties.

I planted some bird seed. A bird came up. Now I don’t know what to feed it.
– Steven Wright –

20-raspberry

Raspberries – Wild ones grow throughout the forest, while tame ones grow in a long bed out back. I pick and eat or freeze as many as I can. Many types of birds like to eat them, apparently more fond of the tame ones than the wild. Each time I venture out to the raspberry bed, I flush a flock of birds who are feeding on all the over ripe fruit that is on the ground!

There are two seasonal diversions that can ease the bite of any winter.  One is the January thaw.  The other is the seed catalogues.
– Hal Borland –

 

28 comments

  1. It’s a sad time of the year and yet a happy one too. Sad that nature is preparing for her long winters sleep and yet it’s also a happy time becaue nature is reseeding the world for a new birthing of life next Spring. Lovely post. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi EC – I agree that this time of year is both sad and happy. The good news, for me anyway, is that all the kids will be back in school pretty soon, so there will be a lot less traffic on the road when we travel!

      Like

  2. These beautiful photos go with the beautiful title of your post! It’s a joy to see plants recycle their lives. I learned about how life recycle in nature when we visited the Capilano Cliff Walk a couple of weeks ago, will post those pictures soon.

    Like

  3. Yes, it’s an awkward time of the year for me. I want to get out and tend to the garden, yet everyday it looks more and more on the wane. Perhaps, I should stop fighting it. It’s the cycle of life, as you’ve helped shown me, Margie. Things will dry up, wilt and go to seed or shrink into the earth. But they’ll be back. And I sure hope all of my new friends I’ve met through these blogs will be back in the spring, too.

    Like

    • Hi SDS – The best part of this season for me is that I get to take a rest from looking after the garden! And just like the garden will return in the spring, I expect all your new friends will too!

      Like

  4. Those photo’s are ridiculously good. Who would have thought you had a creative little photographer hiding inside of you? The first one is my particular favorite. The colors in the backgrounds are almost electric. Just goes to show that a garden is really a series of delights just waiting to be discovered.

    Like

    • Hi Christie – There has always been a creative little photographer in me. I’ve just switched from taking pictures of you and your family to taking pictures of the things in my backyard!

      Like

    • Thanks Marcie. I hadn’t taken seed pod photos before, and realized that I hadn’t really looked at them all that closely before. The camera makes that possible!

      Like

    • Hi winsomebella – I’ve been experimenting with the macro lens I have, but would like to be able to get in even closer. I’m not sure if the limitation to doing that is the lens or my lack of understanding of how to use it…

      Like

  5. Love the birdseed quote! That was a new one for me.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – and for your good wishes regarding the storm. We’re ready and waiting…. (well, I THINK we’re ready….)

    Like

    • Hi Lorna – Summer is winding down – yet – I still have a few flowers that haven’t bloomed yet, and lots of flowers that I haven’t written about. That should keep me going well into fall!

      Like

Comments?

