Mosquitoes – What Do they Eat?

We all know that the mosquitoes quest for food ends when they find a source of blood. But did you know that mosquitoes suck nectar too and only the females take a blood meal?

I didn’t know the bit about the nectar.  It does make me think about how many millions of mosquitoes my flowers have fed over the years…

55-mosquito

If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood.
– Unknown –

The mosquito is the state bird of New Jersey.
– Andy Warhol –

This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge is Quest.

43 comments

  1. Margie, in spite of the temptation, I am going to take the high road and not make any jokes about blood-sucking females. (Just in case my wife ever follows your blog).

    Like

  2. I knew that the females were the blood suckers but my little mind never wandered down the path of how the males eat! Thanks! Here in the Philadelphia suburbs they are so bad art night you cannot sit comfortably outside anymore : (

    Like

  3. I knew only the females suck blood but did not know about nectar. Years ago when I told that info to my husband about the females, he said, “All females of species are blood suckers!” Then added. “except you, dear.”

    Like

  4. When we moved to Virginia, I was anticipating many more mosquitoes than we had in Massachusetts. Wrong. Not sure why but I think part of it might be all the nice little bats that start swirling about at dusk having their dinner.

    Like

  5. If mosquitos only would suck fat! And here in Texas, U.S.A. they are big enough to just carry you away!!! Yes, it is good to be up north the mosquitos mutant down this far! Good info btw.

    Like

  6. And here I thought it was a simple case of sending the ‘little woman’ out to find food while the males stayed at home and relaxed. 🙂 Thanks for teaching me something new!

    Like

  7. What?? By growing flowers I’m enabling mosquitos?? Mother Nature is even crueler than I thought… : (

    I live in Harrisville, NH. If you look at an old map, it’s in an area called Mosquito Bush. ‘Nuff said!!

    Like

    • Yes, we are enabling the mosquito population. Now, if scientists could just find a way to deliver a mosquito specific poison through the nectar of the flowers…

      Like

Comments?

